How do I de-cross-list a section in a course as an instructor?

Document created by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Apr 19, 2017Last modified by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Aug 5, 2017
Version 10Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

If you cross-listed a section from a course, you may be able to cross-list the same section back into the original course. This process is called de-cross-listing and returns all student enrollments back to the original course section. However, once you de-cross-list enrollments, all grades and student submissions are removed from the course (since the course can no longer associate the information with any course enrollments). If you need to retain student grades and put them in the original course, you should export the Gradebook and import it into the original course before de-cross-listing the section.

Note: If you cannot view the De-Cross-List this Section button, you no longer have an enrollment in the original course. For assistance in de-cross-listing a section, please contact your Canvas admin.

Open Course Settings

Open Course Settings

In Course Navigation, click the Settings link.

Open Sections

Open Sections

Click the Sections tab.

Open Section

Open Section

Click the title of the section you want to de-cross-list.

De-Cross-List This Section

De-Cross-List This Section

Click the De-Cross-List this Section button.

Confirm De-Cross-Listing

Click the De-Cross-List This Section button. The section will be moved back to its original course.

Note: If you de-cross-list a section that includes student grades, Canvas will include a message that all grades will no longer be visible. If you need to retain student grades and put them in the original course, you should export the Gradebook and import it into the original course before de-cross-listing the section.

You are here
Table of Contents > Courses and Sections > How do I de-cross-list a section in a course as an instructor?
2 people found this helpful

Attachments

    Outcomes