How do I merge users in an account?

Document created by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Oct 7, 2017Last modified by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Dec 9, 2017
Version 4Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

You can merge two users within your account. Merging accounts combines the logins, contact methods, and enrollments for the two user accounts. Page views are not retain for the user who was merged.

After the accounts have been merged, the user can use the logins that originated from either account to view all their course enrollments within the same account.

Note: Merging user accounts cannot be undone in the Canvas interface. If necessary, users may be able to be split using the Canvas Users API within 180 days of the user merge, though merged users cannot be fully restored to their previous state.

Open Account

Open Account

In Global Navigation, click the Admin link [1], then click the name of the account [2].

Open Users

Open Users

In Account Navigation, click the Users link.

Find User

Find User

In the sidebar, find the user by viewing users in a specific term [1] or searching for a user directly [2].

Open User Profile

Open User Profile

In the search results, click the user's name.

Merge User

Merge User

Click the Merge with Another User link.

Find User Account

Find User Account

Locate the user account where you want to merge the user's information. You can either search for the user or enter the user's ID.

If you are enrolled in multiple accounts, the User Accounts page displays an account menu [1]. In the drop-down menu, select the account where the user is located.

To locate a user by name, type the user's name in the Name field [2]. Select the user when the full name appears [3]. After confirming the user, click the Select button [4].

To select a user by user ID, enter the ID in the User ID field [5] and click the Go button [6].

Note: The User ID is found at the end of your Canvas URL (i.e. account.instructure.com/account/XXXXXX/users/XXXXXX).

Merge User Accounts

  Merge User Accounts 

After selecting the user account to merge, you will see the process and end result table.

The table will show you the User, Action, Emails, Logins, and Enrollments of each user [1]. The table will tell you what will be deleted and kept.

If you want to change positions of the users so one gets deleted and the other does not, click the Switch User Positions button [2].

You can also click the Merge Someone Else With [User Name] [3] for either of the users if you decide to change the users.

When you are ready, click the Prepare to Merge Users button [4].

Confirm Merge

  Confirm Merge 

You will be prompted one more time to ask if you are sure about merging the users together. When you are ready, click the Merge User Accounts button.

Note: This process cannot be undone.

View Confirmation

View Confirmation

Confirm the merge was successful.

You are here
Table of Contents > Users > How do I merge users in an account?

Attachments

    Outcomes