Graded Quizzes: Students view ONLY the questions they missed.

Idea created by Daniel Stewart on Jan 17, 2018
    Open for Voting
    Score15

I am a community college Chemistry instructor who uses Canvas for administering/grading online quizzes (among other things). I have used other course-management software for over a decade and never had the issue I am currently struggling with in Canvas: The ability to have students view only the questions they have missed on the quiz.

Instructors find the feedback students get from seeing what problems they have missed on a quiz as an extremely effective studying tool. However, many of us instructors have limited test-banks of multiple choice questions and cannot afford to have ALL the answers to ALL the quiz problems disclosed to the student after the exam is graded (this likely would lead to sharing/cheating and the inability to give them legitimate multiple attempts at the quiz).

Canvas, of course, has the ability to show ALL the questions and ALL the responses (both correct and incorrect), but this allows the student to obtain what is tantamount to an answer key when they are done taking the quiz. Canvas can also not show anything at all, but this does not help the student know what questions/topics they need to keep studying for their upcoming midterms and provides zero detailed feedback.

I spent quite a bit of time with the Canvas Help Desk, but what basically came out of the conversation is that Canvas has no viable workaround for this issue and that currently there are no plans to implement this type of functionality in their upcoming Quiz 2.0 Platform that is in the works.