Change the name of the "Developer Token" feature

Idea created by Jared Chapman on Apr 9, 2018
    Open for Voting
    Score0

As an LTI developer, I spent a lot of effort (with the help of some remarkable Canvas developers like Cody Cutrer) developing a framework to request course access tokens using a developer token. It really is a slick way to do things.

BUT..., clients really get spooked by that name: "developer token". Think about it, if a "course token" gives you access to all the data in a course, then a "developer token" gives you access to everything in an Canvas instance, right? WRONG. But that is the logic that many clients go through when I ask for a "developer token". Universities are VERY bureaucratic places and this simple misunderstanding adds weeks and sometimes months to the approval process. You could fix this problem with a simple interface change and dramatically lower the cost of doing business for 3rd party developers.

As evidence of this problem and the distrust the name "developer token" creates, I point you to this thread: Developer key or data access token? 

So, my request is that we change the name from "developer token" to "authorization request code" or something like that, and that a brief explanation of what the code does and how it is limited be added to the interface.

Thank you!

P.S.