Idea created by Lisa Moore on Oct 29, 2018
    Open for Voting
    Score5
    • Kelly Pierzchala
    • Lisa Moore
    • Michael Dicks
    • lisa.wathen@nicolet.us
    • Donna Bohn

Canvas Outcomes are an excellent way to collect and monitor student progress. I do, however, think there is room for improvement in the usability of this feature. As an instructor, I would like to have the same flexibility in attaching outcomes to Rubrics as is currently allowed in Quizzes. 

In Quizzes, instructors write their own quiz questions and, using their professional judgment , determine which outcome (standard) the question measures. They attach the outcome to the questions on their own. (In my school, PLC teams serve as a way to check that the quiz question actually assesses the Outcome that has been attached.) 

The Outcomes feature in Rubrics, however, offers much less flexibility. Currently, in order to set up a way to track that data at the district level, we import outcomes and use these pre-determined outcomes to build rubrics. To make these effective tools for communicating with students, we can add a set of descriptors. However, in order to use them to track data, they have to be set at the district level. This means that every time I build a rubric, I locate and add each Outcome, complete with those pre-determined descriptors. Thus, no matter how I am measuring that Outcome in the writing assignment, the language I use to communicate it with students has to be the same.