Publishing a module should NOT publish all content in the module.
When I create a module I like to add all the relevant pages and files to the module before publishing the module. Some of these pages, files, quizzes, etc. I set to unpublished status because I don't want/need them at the beginning of the module. This may be so that I can hide some information until a relevant time to encourage class discovery instead of the students reading ahead and not thinking for themselves.
However, when I publish the module the majority of the pages, files, etc. are automatically set to published status. I then need to go through the list again and unpublish the content until the required time.
My suggestion is that when a module is published that the status of the contents is not changed. For those who like to have all content published, add a "Publish All?" dialog box as part of the module publishing process or add a button at the top of each published module that publishes the content therein.