cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cdavitt
Surveyor II

Adding Account Role - Building Principal

I am looking to add a new account role for our building level principals.

There are so many options and choices which leave me wondering. What do they need to see and what isn't necessary?

Has anyone add roles for their building principals and would be willing to share how you did it?

There is a chance maybe I am overthinking it. Should they just be added as Sub-account observers? 

7 Replies
robotcars
Lamplighter II

Hi  @cdavitt ,

I'm tagging SHEBENE‌, who set this up for our 350+ schools, principals their sub accounts. I could probably pull it up, but would probably fail at explaining the rationales.

ataylor30
Surveyor

Hi Colin,

I'm fairly new to being a Canvas admin, so I hope what I say doesn't come off as ignorant (or just plain wrong!), but I have set up several additional account roles for individuals at our college who need specialized access based on their position. I'm guessing the actual permissions would be a bit different for building principals, but we do have a role I've titled "Academic Administrator" which primarily provides view access to our courses, grade information, and analytics, but generally restricts editing access when possible. We generally assign this role to academic deans who will want to spot check or evaluate their faculty as needed.

I considered whether or not to assign this role only to specific subaccounts or at the root account, and we went with assigning it at the root account simply because of the fluctuating nature of institutional organization. However, we do have some other more limited roles that we do assign to specific subaccounts instead.

I'd be happy to chat with you more in-depth and show you specifically what we have done if you'd like... feel free to send me a message and I'll help however I can.

Andrew

SHEBENE
Community Member