Tableau Workbook Examples

jsheringer
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

One-Liner

Examples of visualizations created with Tableau Desktop against Canvas Data data accessed from an Amazon Redshift data source.

Overview

Having worked extensively with Crystal Reports as a consultant in a past life, I was super-excited to get my hands on Tableau Desktop and build some visualizations against Canvas Data.  Below is a collection of the the first set of Stories/Dashboards/Reports that I've built. If your Canvas Data is hosted in a Redshift database and you either use or are considering the use of Tableau, you can download the .twb files I've shared below and use against your database.

Keep in mind that I have no prior experience with Tableau so there might be better ways of compiling and presenting the visualizations.  Also, I built these against a sales demonstration site that we use at Instructure so the output against production school data may look slightly different than what is shown in the images shared below.

Requirements for Use

Upon opening the .twb file in Tableau, you will be prompted to provide a password to access the data source.  Because you don't have access to my data source, you'll need to click on the "Edit Connection" button.  Once the connection information is updated to access your Redshift data source, the reports should load without issue.

Examples

The screenshots below showcase the output of each visualization, presented within Canvas using Redirect App links within a Reports Dashboard sub-account.  This approach of sharing visualizations is possible if you've got access to Tableau Server or Tableau Online but it is not a requirement for use.  The output will load just fine in Tableau Desktop.

TitleDetails
Enrollments

Description: This is actually the first report I developed.  It isn't especially compelling against our demonstration site data but does provide some good insight into enrollments.