Dropout Detective Information for Faculty

kona
Community Coach
Community Coach

This is a document on Dropout Detective that I provide for my faculty. It covers the different features and some best practices.

13 Comments
natalie_norton1
Community Champion

Thank you  @kona  - this is really useful! We hope to look at a demo, but out of interest can you view a risk profile for a student across all their courses, or is it just at individual course level? 

kona
Community Coach
Community Coach
Author

@natalie_norton1 , as an Admin I can see a risk profile for a student across all their courses. So the ranking I see is the ranking by student (but for all the courses the student is enrolled in). The individual course view is just for Instructors.

Sylvia_Ami
Community Contributor

Thank you  @kona ‌ for providing this helpful information on Dropout Detective. I have a question about "Latest Submission."  Does this detect only if a student submitted something to a Canvas "assignment" or does it also indicate if a student took a graded quiz or posted to a graded discussion? When we report LDA (Last Date of Attendance), we need to look at grade assignments, discussions, and quizzes. If the Dropout Detective tool took all these types of assignments into consideration, then this would indeed be a nifty tool for faculty to quickly and easily determine LDA.

kona
Community Coach
Community Coach
Author

It means any graded assignment - so discussion, quiz, or assignment. So yes, quite nifty. I will say however that we use something else for our financial aid so they can report last day of attendance - https://community.canvaslms.com/groups/admins/blog/2015/04/14/assignment-submissions-report-programm...

lharris-ransom
Community Novice

Ocean County College has been very successful with our integration of Dropout Detective in Canvas as well.

dnoud
Community Participant