cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
de_millington
Community Contributor

Programming

Jump to solution

I have some programming experience in VBA and Access SQL and was hoping to join your developers forum to get tips on where to start programming the building blocks in Canvas. For instance Blackboard uses JAVA whereas I gather, from the limited video clips I have seen, Canvas uses JSON. I am looking to take things from inception to the API integration stage. If anyone could offer some advice and guidance as to where I should start, would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Tags (1)
47 Replies
garth
Community Champion

@de_millington ‌ you can use Postman to string together multiple API calls, but that is not the road I would go.  Postman is not a software development tool, personally I don't find it well suited for running full algorithms / business logic.

I would continue to pursue the use of PowerShell if that's what you know, doing a quick search just here in the community I found this: How to POST in powershell  You can likely find more relevant resources with your own search.

JavaScript is also a good option, and also returns good search results.   @James  did a nice post on a use case for JavaScript here: Sorting Rubrics Made Easy 

sjmorris3
Community Participant

@de_millington ‌

You would want to use a programming language to loop through a list of course ids and make an API call at each loop. Maybe something like this PowerShell script.

$csv = import-csv -Delimiter "," -Path 'C:\temp\example.csv' 

foreach ($line in $csv){

$token = "your token here"
$headers =@{"Authorization"="Bearer "+$token}
$url = "https://institution.beta.instructure.com:443/api/v1/courses/"+ $line.destination_id +"/content_migrations"
$Body = @{"migration_type"="course_copy_importer";"settings[source_course_id]"=$line.source_id}

Invoke-RestMethod -Method Post -Headers $headers -Uri $url -Body $Body

}