cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DinaFrancisco
Community Participant

Custom Reports

Hello All,

I am new to being a Canvas Admin so if this sounds dumb it might be. 😉  We are trying to find a way to make a custom report due to large groups of students being on quarantine, we would like to create a group with those students and see user activity for a set period of time. The groups would change, obviously, so we need to be able to create new groups and new time periods. Where could I even start to do something like this? There's so much information, I don't know where to start.  Please advise. Thank you.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
brian_mullins
Community Participant

Hi Dina, and welcome to Canvas Land!

A lot of what you are asking for is dependent on what 'user activity' means. Some things, like login activity, are very simple to find. Others take a bit more work. My suggestion would be to build a mechanism for building and maintaining the group outside of Canvas. Large, cross-course groups are not really something that can be done, at least not that I've ever seen. One way to do the grouping in Canvas, if necessary, would be to build a non-published course for each group and enroll the students. 

If you can articulate what 'user activity' means, post it here and maybe the community can help more.

Thanks,

Brian

Jeff_F
Community Champion

Do you have Canvas Data already set up? 

If so, here is an idea:  create a Canvas course that includes only students with the given status (quarantine).  Empower the person(s) who curate this list to enroll and remove persons from that course.  The course doesn't need to be available to these students, but it could be a means of communicating announcements, etc.  This way only students who have that status active appear.