cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
progacki
Community Participant

How to trouble shoot custom code?

Jump to solution

We are having an issue caused by our custom code and I hope to get some hints on how to trouble shoot it. I'm a Canvas admin who is relatively new to Canvas.

A former employee wrote some of our custom code and we also hired a firm to create templates in Canvas and they wrote some custom JS and CSS.

The issue we're having is the Forgot Pasword? link on our login page sends out the email appropriately, but when a student clicks on the link to reset their password, they are taken to a blank page. If I append "?global_includes=0" to that URL the page comes up with the entry forms for changing one's password.

I have attached screenshots of both the blank screen and the one that works.

Can someone please point me toward how to trouble shoot this?

thanks!

Phil

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
robotcars
Community Champion

Hi Phil,

Sorry you're experiencing this.

This is a problem with custom solutions and unvetted code. Developers not paying attention to the house they are in. Standing out to me is the duplication of jQuery and Bootstrap in an environment where existing versions are available. I'm certain that Canvas deals with these conflicts for us.

Our forgot password button does something completely different, but I have a developer instance of Canvas I was able to test this on. This is the default screen. You can see the reset password page in Canvas has the body with class modal.

291343_Screen Shot 2018-09-19 at 12.40.05 PM.png

Comparing Bootstrap 3.3.7, which is pasted into your global CSS, line 6271 is the issue.

The pasted in Bootstrap code is hiding the body, this is why ?global_includes=0 makes it work.

Here is the bandaid...

ExistingReplace
.modal {
    position: fixed;
    top: 0;
    right: 0;
    bottom: 0;
    left: 0;
    z-index: 1050;
    display: none;
    overflow: hidden;