Announcements page as course home page

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
  Idea will be open for vote May 5th, 2015 - August 5th, 2015  Learn more about voting...

As an instructor, I want to set the Announcements page in my course as the course home page. Students would see this page first whenever they access the course. Canvas allows a variety of other pages in a course to be set as the home page (activity stream, syllabus, a page I create); why not the Announcements page?

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: C. David Frankel
Thank you especially for contributions by: Mick Cunningham, Josh Blumberg

Comments from instructure

For more information, please read through the Canvas Production Release Notes (2017-01-07)

42 Comments
Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team

Greetings all!

There is a new feature that will allow the display of recent announcements on a "Home" (content) page.
For more information, please read through the Canvas Beta Release Notes (2016-12-19)

Discuss this new feature, and others, in the Beta Release (2016-12-19) Collaborative Chat

Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team

I would be curious to know your opinions on whether this meets the needs of those that commented and voted, or if there is still a need to only view the announcements page as a home page!

wakimsu
Community Participant

This is a good start.  The announcements are front and center but it looks like it still takes a click for students to read the announcement. What I would prefer is the most recent announcement itself to be the home page, but that doesn't seem to be how this works (?).  In reading other comments in this topic, I think this meets a lot of people's need.  One step at a time and this is a good one.

Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team

The Canvas Production Release Notes (2017-01-07) have been published, and the announcement feature will be available soon!

Community Novice