Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
KAilsa_Rowan
Community Novice

This idea had well over 100 votes in the old community (mine was one of them). Why do we need to vote on it again? Why hasn't it already been rolled into the development plan?

scottdennis
Instructure
Instructure

Hello Kaye-Ailsa,

One of the main benefits of moving to a new platform and feature discussion format was to find out what is most relevant to Canvas users today and get that information to our Product team in a timely manner.  Bringing over what we think are the top ideas currently, allowing the community to do the same, and then letting everybody vote up or down in the new space is part of leveling the playing field. Having a process based on time (aka voting periods) will, we hope, help us to communicate what will and will not be developed with each development cycle in a more timely and transparent manner.

canvas_admin
Community Champion

If this is implemented, please make it optional rather than forced.  We need to know who specifically makes posts and interacts in our forums.

KAilsa_Rowan
Community Novice

The original request in the old forums asked for the *option* to create anonymous discussion forums. Most forums should still have clear authorship.

Some specific purposes that were mentioned in the old thread where the anonymous format is valuable: