[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
DaleDrees
Community Champion

As long as the submission is clearly marked as being submitted by the teacher I think it would be a nice feature. I too am concerned about students using this as a crutch and not learning how to submit assignments properly, have out dated browsers or other technical issues that they need to address.

Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

@Jeff_F ​, the Turnitin originality declaration is enabled and customized at the account and course level, only appears in the Turnitin API, which is being deprecated. That's why many users here can't see it; they're most likely using the Turnitin LTI.

Jeff_F
Community Champion

Muchas gracias! 

ladams45
Community Novice

I think this is an important feature -- it forces students to communicate with me about their late paper rather than letting the system allow for a late paper and merely time stamp it late.

mmollin
Community Novice