[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
ana_mataksiviou
Community Novice

We will really be missing the search feature in Canvas. This is searching across a number of courses, and within one course. Having to browse and scroll through pages and pages of content is simply not an acceptable alternative, because it takes ages to find stuff! 

Initially, we didn't have a search in our old VLE, and then users kept asking for it, so we developed one. Now we're missing it again in Canvas. It's a shame. We're going to have to find our own solution, and it looks like many people are in the same position.

a1051490
Community Novice

We really need global search so strongly support this idea. Search is now a ubiquitous function of any online platform and our students expect to be able to search for their resources, especially as our institution starts to use Canvas more and more.

l_lucas
Community Participant

As this request is about to tip the 300 up votes - its a shame to see it has just been deferred from Khaki 2018 Smiley Sad