[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
laurakgibbs
Community Champion

Okay, super: that is really good to know,  @Renee_Carney ‌! I know different people have different use-cases (and I heard lots more at Khaki), so maybe we can help move discussion forward by segmenting the idea in ways that make sense to us... which may or may not match up with how Engineering splits things up behind the scenes. And maybe it can help.

I will research the areas of Canvas that I use, and if everybody does the same, maybe we can un-lump this global search in a way that will be useful. 

Thanks again! And........ Happy Friday! 🙂

hwahbyeraky
Community Novice