[People] Printable course roster

As an instructor, I want a print button on the People tab that will generate a PDF or other printable document containing student names and photos in grid format. It'd be nice if the list could be sorted by groups, too.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Steve Hallman
Thank you especially for contributions by: Glen Parker, Miles Mancini, Richard Meyer

Added to Theme

54 Comments
dhulsey
Community Champion

Hi, Tim. You can get a roster by exporting grades and deleting everything except the information you need. At that point, you can build out a spreadsheet for printing that meets your needs (attendance for the week or whatever). Depending on your needs and available devices, you might also take a look at Teacher Tools Release Notes (Android 1.0)​.

I hope that helps!

swinter
Community Champion

Actually the gradebook export isn't a roster that is useful.  We really need a printable version of the attendance sheet that doesn't require any extra customization.

canvas_admin
Community Champion

@matthew_coser ​,

I would like to try this app out, but have no experience with Python.  Would you be willing to help me out as far as getting it running goes?

smg36
Community Novice

Hi,

I agree that having printable rosters is a nice feature. In fact, I have such a feature/button on my Canvas page. However, the photos are still too small to be usable and the roster cannot be sorted by groups. Because this request was archived and because I know of a number of faculty who are unhappy with the size of the photos in the printed rosters I've submitted an idea to have the the photo size be selectable by instructors. I also included the notion that it would be nice if it could be sorted by groups. If you liked this idea perhaps you could vote on the new idea because it builds on this one.  Here's the link:

Thank you.

Stan

smg36
Community Novice

Hi everyone,