Printable / PDF-exportable quizzes

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
The Quiz Build page provides quiz printing options. For more information, please read through the  Canvas Release Notes (2021-08-21).

As an instructor, I want to be able to export a Canvas quiz as a PDF. This would enable me to easily print quizzes for the purpose of accommodation, for allowing a given student to take a quiz outside the timeframe established for the quiz for all other students, etc.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Pacific Union College admins

Special thanks for contributions from: Betsy Walker, John Louviere

Community Team Note: This idea remains open for voting. A virtually identical idea was moved forward for consideration in March: https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/7285-exporting-quizzes-into-word-or-pdf-documents  Contrary to our customary practice, we are allowing both ideas to continue to move forward. Votes and feedback from both ideas will be evaluated.

341 Comments
G_Petruzella
Community Champion

Hi all -

In the spirit of community, sharing, hacking, etc., I want to share a half-baked bit of JavaScript that produces a print-friendly version of a Canvas Quiz. The attached screencapture is proof-of-concept only - it won't work, at the moment, in a production environment for various reasons - but I'm sure there are much smarter coders out there who could solve the issues. But the code does work (in a controlled environment) - it's not a mock-up or photoshop job. Smiley Happy

First the video demo:

0:01-0:23: the typical experience of browser-printing a Canvas Quiz. Kludgy and long.

0:24-1:00: the print-friendly end-product of the script, and how browser printing looks with it.

Video Demo of Print-Friendly Quiz

Now, the script:

<script>
function printQuiz() {
  var quizUrl = document.getElementById("quizUrlInput").value;
  var quizUrl = quizUrl + "/take?preview=1";