Printable / PDF-exportable quizzes

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
The Quiz Build page provides quiz printing options. For more information, please read through the  Canvas Release Notes (2021-08-21).

As an instructor, I want to be able to export a Canvas quiz as a PDF. This would enable me to easily print quizzes for the purpose of accommodation, for allowing a given student to take a quiz outside the timeframe established for the quiz for all other students, etc.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Pacific Union College admins

Special thanks for contributions from: Betsy Walker, John Louviere

Community Team Note: This idea remains open for voting. A virtually identical idea was moved forward for consideration in March: https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/7285-exporting-quizzes-into-word-or-pdf-documents  Contrary to our customary practice, we are allowing both ideas to continue to move forward. Votes and feedback from both ideas will be evaluated.

341 Comments
huojingyu2010
Community Novice

This feature is very much needed. As people already mentioned, some students may need the accommodation. On top of that, my school lost the internet connection more than 3 times last semester. Imagine what if it happened during the final exam?  We really need a back up plan for situations like that.

john_lee1
Community Novice

Printing quizzes and to quickly assess student learning is a useful tool in canvas.  

liam_gardner
Community Explorer

Great Idea, I think this would be valuable for visits my Tutors complete where there is little to no internet! 

marybeth_kubins
Community Novice

I agree with being able to print it out, as well.  I teach first grade and we do not have 1:1 technology.  It would be great to be able to print some out for in order to meet all student needs.

brook_kempisty
Community Novice