[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
lbandler
Community Novice

Please do this.  There are many good arguments for it:

- addressing disability

- addressing convenience for academics

- uploading scanned hand written or DRAWN documents

- uploading late assignments (to separate them from ones that have submitted on time)

- uploading written examinations

etc etc etc

What more do you need?  There's a real need for this and your action would be appreciated.  It was relatively straightforward in our old LMS - so that makes it more frustrating.

Thanks!

#submit student paper into canvas assignment slot

skhagen
Community Contributor

Another amen here. This would be a great feature, and it would be great to know whether it's still in development.

nazariok
Community Novice