[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
david-rethwisch
Community Novice

A few have commented that the students might see this as a crutch. That isn't the intent. You could still refuse to upload it late. My problem is students are taking classes from home and some of them have poor internet connectivity to begin with and then they now share it with their parent(s) and siblings working from home. Their internet bandwith will work for sending a large email (though it goes slowly), but it creates big problems (timing out etc.) when they try to upload to Canvas. I have great internet connectivity. So if they email it to me I can upload it. Given their internet problems they can't. They could if they were on campus, but when will that occur? So this is very much a COVID problem.

rita_cronise
Community Novice