[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
kdobson1
Community Member

Like many others here I'm surprised that this suggestion is 5 years old and yet there seems to be no real movement on this. Especially now considering the amount of work submitted online has probably grown exponentially over the past few months and so this would be a hugely beneficial feature that would reduce the workload of teachers working from home.

Please Canvas moderators/techies can you look into adding this feature? Surely it should be high priority to support the current online learning that is happening?

stucker
Community Explorer

YES

jamin_hoffman
Community Explorer

Please incorporate this suggestion!  It's been around for along time, and gotten a lot of discussion - it's time!

bourjaim
Community Participant

So....nothing in five years, eh Canvas?  Top notch support you have here.

ecannis
Community Novice