[Theme Editor] Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

Hello all! I am a student, and I am here to suggest an idea that I thought would make Canvas more personalized. I think a dark theme would be great for Canvas since some students like to stay up at night (not me), and the bright white light from Canvas can hurt their eyes. The main reason why I want it is because it would look better on my computer. Youtube and Google have these options, why not Canvas? Thank you for reading!

Comments from Instructure

While we are not able to announce that this idea has been completed, it is important to celebrate that Dark Mode has been added to Canvas Student, Canvas Teacher, and Canvas Parent. (2022-07-05)

349 Comments
jcarpenter1
Panda Pros
Panda Pros

Hello @erikamg17 , as you can tell from this link https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Idea-Conversations/Dark-Theme-for-Canvas/idc-p/364080#M18671 , you are not the first to ask for this.  This link also has some options that could be used.

Best of luck!

Qalamity
Community Novice

Please add darkmode. My eyes are sensitive. 

bgray6
Community Novice

Hey, I know other people have suggested it, but I want to throw it out there as well. I think a Dark Mode for canvas would be really beneficial. I personally have more trouble reading dark text over a light background than the other way around. Plus working on canvas late at night can be blinding with the normal screen tones canvas provides even with the blue light disabled through my laptops settings. I notice myself wanting to work more on my homework than I actually do because the eye strain from the white background just gets to be too much.

maddieframe
Community Novice