Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
laurakgibbs
Community Champion

Great,  @Jeff_F ‌! Since that was one that didn't get a group presentation, I wasn't 100% sure if it was a go or not. I am so glad that it is! I think that will DRAMATICALLY improve the engagement factor for discussions.

adam_zolkover
Community Participant

From my perspective, drag-and-drop, or something similarly simple, is essential. Many of our learners have been out of school for a while, and never used an LMS. But many have used some other kind of CMS (WordPress, Medium, etc.). Putting learners in a position where they not only have to understand the material in the course, but also gain an arcane set of Internet literacy skills creates a situation where item #2 interferes with item #1. Uploading should be transparent, so learners can concentrate on the assignment.

johnmartin
Community Champion