Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
rlbrown21
Community Participant

FINALLY!  does this go live yesterday?  Smiley Wink

zechariah_kouns
Community Novice

I am Livid. Just Livid. WHY HASN"T THIS BEEN BLOODY IMPLEMENTED YET!!!!? It has been MULTIPLE years since this is up and this HASN'T been implemented after ALL this TIME!? SERIOUSLY!? I don't even see how this MOST BASIC feature which is on MANY MANY websites is NOT on this area of this website which is where it's needed MOST. I'm not a coder, but it really shouldn't take 4 YEARS to implement this in. I don't even know how this was "greenlit" without said feature. If you can't implement that, then the very least expand the "Imbed" to include images from your computer alone. Now, I recognize I'm just SMASHING my key board, being mad, right now, so I'm not being very rational right now, but seriously, this is just ludicrous.

johnmartin
Community Champion