cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lgarmire
Community Member

Dialog Box & Canvas App

I am new to canvas and am used to using Bootstrap to create items. We used to use a Click and Reveal and have found that using a dialog box will accomplish mostly the same thing:

<div id="dialog_for_link1" class="enhanceable_content dialog">Hard work at the start pays dividends at the end</div>
<p><a id="link1" class="Button" href="#dialog_for_link1">Click to reveal the secret to success</a></p>

The problem is with the Canvas App. When I view it as a student, the content dialog shows up on the page as soon as it is loaded. Any suggestions?

Thank you,

Laura

0 Kudos
1 Reply
Shar
Community Champion

Hi Laura @lgarmire ,

I have 2 suggestions. I'll give the best one first.

Suggestion 1. Switch to using the details tag. It will work in the mobile apps too. So your example becomes:

<details><summary>Click to reveal the secret to success</summary>
<p>Hard work at the start pays dividends at the end</p> </details>

And the details tag is accessible-- read by screen readers as "button - collapsed" before it's activated.

Details expandedDetails expanded

Suggestion 2. Hide the whole widget on the mobile screen because pop-ups do not work there. So your example becomes:

<div id="widget" class="visible-desktop" style="display:none;">
<div id="dialog_for_link1" class="enhanceable_content dialog">Hard work at the start pays dividends at the end</div>
<p><a id="link1" class="Button" href="#dialog_for_link1">Click to reveal the secret to success</a></p>
</div>

Surrounding it in another div that is only visible in the desktop. The caveat here is that in the RCE you will not see the widget either, so you'll need to be in HTML mode if you want to make further adjustments to it. This widget is also still accessible to the screen-reader.