cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dhulsey
Community Champion

Due Dates in online classes

Jump to solution

I have always distributed due dates in online classes across the week. For instance, I might have something due on Monday, something due on Wednesday, and something due on Friday. My theory has always been that I want the students to engage with the class on multiple days, believing that distributed due dates would increase engagement, success, and retention. However, when looking at classes by my colleagues, I see many of them will have everything due for a week on one day; Sunday seems popular for some reason.

Having no formal training as an instructional designer, I was wondering if anyone had thoughts on best practices or could direct me to relevant research on managing due dates in one line classes. Thanks in advance for your thoughts and help!

27 Replies

When I was at USF, the Dean of Hospitality (DR. Cihan Cobanoglu) required something similar. He required contact information from the students too, such as a contact phone number. If you missed any deadlines he would call the student up and ask if everything was alright. He said he usually only had to do this once and it quickly reengaged the student back into the course. Again, might not work in all scenarios but he swore that it was an effective approach.

seanmichaelmorr
Instructure
Instructure

A little unrelated, but maybe a little diverting...

brendaa
Community Contributor