Math Editor keyboard shortcut? Save me from carpal tunnel...

Jump to solution
tom_gibbons
Community Contributor

Please tell me that someone knows of a keyboard shortcut to access the equation editor from the RCE. 

I'm remediating a calculus course that was originally created in Bb. I'm recreating all of the equations, because the WIRIS content exported by Bb was so buggy/broken. There are like 15-20 mathematical expressions in every quiz question, and I'm kind of going bonkers with swapping back and forth from keyboard to mouse and back.

I'm pretty good with the math editor and keystrokes for formatting, but needing to click several times to get to the editor is getting to me. 

1 Solution
nagami
Community Explorer

I was also frustrated by this, so I learned how to program a Chrome Extension just to fix it. Given that I've never programmed browser extensions before, this is a lot of effort to put into a problem on the user end..

I can't pretend this is the best code in the world - I'm an amateur! I also can't guarantee that it will work for FUTURE versions of Canvas, only the version that I'm using now. But it's at least a workaround! Currently, this extension creates shortcuts for:

* Superscript

* Subscript

* Insert equation

I can make edits if people want more!

(The following procedure is, to the very best of my limited ability and knowledge, safe to use. However, you should always look over any code you get from the Internet to make sure it's not suspicious before executing it! I will explain my code as I give it to you, to help allay any fears.)

This is an involved process, so I hope you have a little time. It also requires some basic technical skills. It worked for me; please let me know if it works for you!

Instructions for adding shortcuts to the rich content editor, including equation editor shortcut: (Chrome only)