cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jeneen_hill
Community Contributor

Annotate PDFs on Ipad using Canvas

Greetings,

I am new to Canvas and researching the best app to use to annotate PDFs on the Ipad using Canvas.

Is there one app that works better than others? One that seamlessly integrates?  Cost involved?

Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Jeneen

Tags (2)
22 Replies
KristinL
Community Team
Community Team

Hi Jeneen! Welcome!

With the newest update of Canvas Mobile, PDF annotations are now part of the mobile experience. (Canvas by Instructure Release Notes (iOS 3.15)) If you'd like to join a conversation about it, see Student Annotations!Mobile Annotations: Quick Demo​ will take place this week as well.

As far as external apps go, we've had great luck with Good Reader, Notability, and PDF Expert.

This is not working at all for me.  My fillable PDF documents my students need to complete do not even show up filed out in the app.  The PDF documents can be seen through a browser but I cannot annotate to provide feedback.

0 Kudos
bkraus
Instructure
Instructure

I would totally try out the native annotations capability that is new, as Kristin suggested. Those options that she posted as other 3rd party are great, but I want to put in a plug for one more that is coming out in the next week or so.

PDF Viewer for iOS & Android - Reading, Reviewing, Annotating - Made Easy. | PSPDFKit SDK - The lead...

PDF Viewer will be *free* on both iOS and Android, and I think will rival and beat all other options. 

It was just released *today*! I downloaded it, and it looks awesome, probably better IMO than Notability which I held as probably the best prior. And the best part of it is, it's free!