cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
meganm-b
Community Member

Accessing a Course as a Student (Dual Roles)

Jump to solution

Original Topic Title: I'm signed up as both a student and a teacher for a course. How can I go to the page as a student?

I am a student organizing a self-study study group, and so I created a course on Canvas for it as a teacher (which I was able to do from my student Canvas account). I also added my account as a student so I could turn in the assignments and then add the grade from the teacher view. However, I can only view the page as a teacher and I cannot figure out how to go to the page as a student. I can do the "student view" option, but that only lets me test features as a test student, and I need to see the page as myself. Does someone know how I can go on as a student instead of as teacher?

Message was edited by: Chris Hofer

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
meganm-b
Community Member

Thank you  @kona  and  @chofer  for the help! I eventually found that I could turn in an assignment if I clicked on it from the to-do list on the Canvas dashboard.

View solution in original post

13 Replies
kona
Community Coach
Community Coach

meganm-b​, in the past faculty were able to add themselves to a course as a student and see the "Submit Assignment" and "Take Quiz" buttons just like students. I just checked and I can still see the "Take Quiz" button, but I'm not getting the "Submit Assignment" button (for assignments) any longer.

The work around for this is that you go to to Speedgrader for the assignment and attach your assignment through the comment box. It wouldn't show up as a true assignment, but you would have your assignment posted and you could still give yourself a grade for it.

Hope this helps!

chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi meganm-b​...