cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sdudis
Community Participant

Admin Icon Missing from Global Navigation Menu

Jump to solution

I created my own canvas course using the build it option and want my course to be open to the public using the self registration and open enrollment options.  However, there is no admin icon in my global navigation menu, so I can not access the tools under admin needed to enable the self registration option.  How can I access the admin tools?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kona
Community Coach
Community Coach

@sdudis ​, I'm wondering if something like this would work for you - How do I enable course self-enrollment with a join code or secret URL?

You should be able to do this with out Admin level rights in a FFT course/account.

View solution in original post

10 Replies
chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @sdudis ​...

Though I've never used it before, it sounds like you're using the Free For Teachers (FFT) account...which does not have an "Admin" button for Canvas Admins.  Smiley Sad  Since I don't know a lot about FFT, I may have to defer you to others here in the Community that do.  But, I was provided this link by stefaniesanders​ which may be of help to you: https://s3.amazonaws.com/tr-learncanvas/docs/Canvas_Account_Comparisons.pdf

Hope this helps, Susan!

cesbrandt
Community Champion

The Admin icon would only be available to you if you have an account-level role. These are generally only provided to users that require x access across all courses within an account. It grants that access without having to enroll the user in all those courses. Most instructors and students would not be granted such access.

As for enabling self-enrollment for a course, it wouldn't be done via the account-level administration pages, but the course itself: How do I enable course self-enrollment with a join code or secret URL?