Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
aiyer1217
Community Participant

Assignment point adjustment

Jump to solution

Hello!

I am an instructor and relatively new to CANVAS.  I am writing because currently, when my students view their grades in terms of a percent, it is on the order of 300-1000%!  I am quite sure this is because my 'total assignment' section is out of 10 points, even though the total number of points in my class is significantly more than this. 

256817_pastedImage_2.png

I am not sure how to change this.  Additionally, I have created modules for each chapter we will be covering in my class, but I have done this by including each 'chapter' as an assignment:

256786_pastedImage_1.png

These are not intended to count for points, however.   I have tried making the assignments not count towards a grade, but this does not seem to have helped.  

Any advice that can be offered would be greatly appreciated.  Please let me know if you need me to clarify anything further!

Thank you so much!
Arjun

Tags (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi  @aiyer1217  

I note in your assignment list that you have a great many assignments without a stated value.  The assignments with a stated value create the total possible points in the Canvas Gradebook.When a score is entered for a student submission for an assignment without a stated value, this increase the students' actual scores without increasing the total possible scores, so you end up creating a denominator larger than the numerator creating a percentage higher than 100.

Example:

• Ten assignments worth 100 pts each, Total possible points for course.
  • Plus ten assignments with not point value, but graded by you as 100 pts each.
  • Total possible in gradebook is 1000 points but total actual could be 200 points, so students could have an achieved percentage of 200 %

I hope this helps,

Kelley

View solution in original post

6 Replies
kmeeusen
Community Coach
Community Coach