cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
j_avneri
Community Participant

Assignment report - API or Canvas Data portal?

Hi there, 

I'm a complete beginner with Canvas API and Canvas Data Portal - I was wondering if anyone could help me in how I would use either to run a report that would show me the following information for assignments from all courses, if possible with me being able to select the time period to run the report from e.g. from 30 days ago to now or a time range etc. (selecting the time period would help alleviate too much data being returned and crashing the report.) 

• Course title 
  • Course name 
  • Sub-account name 
  • Assignment title 
  • Assignment publish status 
  • Assignment from date 
  • Assignment due date 
  • Assignment until date 
  • Assignment type 
  • Date assignment added to course 
  • Assignment group title (key information)

The ‘Assignment group title’ is a key piece of information that would have priority in being returned in this report. 

Many thanks! 

Joe  

1 Reply
robotcars
Community Champion

Not every assignment will have an assignment_group, at least not logically in CD. So that's a LEFT JOIN. I mention this because, for any assignment without an assignment group, you won't see the title. The rest depends on your use of Canvas, but I think we can get you what you're looking for. 

Depending on your sub account structure, you may have to look up multiple sub account names to get the right one. For instance, account name of most of our courses is just the department name (math, science, social studies), above that is Live SIS Courses, then School Name.