cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
john_williamson
Community Contributor

Available Until Date

Has anyone ever experienced assignments still open after the available until has passed?

22 Replies
kona
Community Coach
Community Coach

Sorry I'm late to the party, but it sounds like you've already figured out part of the issue - the lack of a time limit. Unfortunately I'm not going to be much help because I just had something similar happen to me last week. A student hadn't submitted a quiz, but the until date was up and yet the quiz was hanging there in limbo and didn't auto-submit and didn't give me the option to submit it for the student (on the Moderate page). I ended up extending out the until date, then masqueraded as the student (which I can do because I'm a Canvas Admin), and submitted the quiz.

As for the settings on my quiz, students had 5 attempts and unlimited time, but there was a due & until date. This specific student was on her first attempt when the until date kicked her out. So... is it the no time limit with multiple attempts allowed that's causing the problem??? This might be one to escalate to Canvas support.

john_williamson
Community Contributor

Ken,

I have been formatting my assignments in this same manner for the last 2 plus years and this quarter was the first time I encountered this issue.    I am just glad were able to find a solution.  

It may indeed be worthwhile to file a case, then, as Kona suggested, though I imagine you're more worried about submitting final grades at this time of year! Definitely something to keep an eye on, though.

john_williamson
Community Contributor

Kona,