cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nesse
Community Participant

Broken feature: How to upload a file to canvas via iPad simply.

Jump to solution

I've been lecturing calculus via iPad for the last year by creating .pdf notes in the notability app.  It had been easy to upload these .pdf files to Canvas, however during the last software update I found it was no longer possible to add a file to Canvas directly from Notability.

I was using Canvas Student, even though I was a teacher. I then started using the Canvas Teacher app and found that you could add files via iPad, however not directly through Notability. I found a workaround where I send files to a cloud based file folder (Box, Dropbox) and then I could upload, BUT, I discovered that while it uploads the file to the Canvas folder, THERE IS NO WAY TO PUBLISH THE FILE ON THE IPAD!

So, to get a viewable file to students I used spend 10 seconds to tap a few buttons and voila!

Now, I must do the following: (1) send the .pdf to a cloud folder on my iPad, (2) open the Canvas teacher app on my iPad then go through many submenus to upload but not "publish" the file, and then (3) open up my laptop, and login to the canvas site and hit the PUBLISH button on the uploaded files.

This is a major pain.

Please fix this.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
klundstrum
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @nesse -

I'm sorry that you're frustrated with Canvas Teacher.

I tested the process to upload and then publish a file in Canvas Teacher for iOS, and I had the most success if I saved work in my iCloud or Google Drive from my app of choice. I tapped the plus sign, then Upload File then Browse to open up the menu. Once I selected the file, I tapped edit and adjusted the access.

It's a pattern to get used to, I admit, but I was able to publish, unpublish, or restrict any file from my course without having to leave Canvas Teacher. I was also able to do this on my Android device.