cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rational
Community Member

Clicker-like Functionality for Online Courses??

I am a course designer/architect for the Physics department at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. We have already put one Physics course completely online (Canvas based) and have had a good experience, so we are planning to put more courses online. Some of the classroom versions of these courses currently use "clickers", which enable students to respond individually to in-class questions. These are very popular with students. We want to use a variation of this with our online courses; this variation could be called "asynchronous polling". The teacher will communicate a question to the entire online class (who may or may not be logged on at that particular moment), then the students will have a certain amount of time, a day for example, to respond (via Canvas, not via clicker). Then some Canvas software would automatically aggregate the student responses and send a message to all of the students with the results. Does Canvas have a feature like that?

8 Replies
sbastian
Community Participant

My first thought is that you can create an ungraded survey in Canvas that would do most of what you are looking for. Simply create a new Quiz and select Ungraded Survey as the quiz type.

The instructor can view the survey results but I don't know of a way to have Canvas automatically report the results to the students. When I've done this, I've taken the data from the survey results and sent it out to students myself (this could be done via Announcements with a file attachment of the resulting data and/or graphs if desired).