cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
richardp
Community Participant

Containing Activities within Modules

I have a course comprising five units and each unit, in turn, comprises 33 weekly topics and each weekly topic, of which there will be many, will be delivered via a blended learning session/lesson. Rightly or wrongly, I have the activities for each topic/lesson organised within a module..... of which there will be many! Is it possible to prevent the previous/next functionality within  module from over-spilling/accessing content in adjacent modules? I am relatively new to the workings of Canvas:-(   

n.b. For administrative purposes all of the five units need to come under the umbrella of one course.

5 Replies
chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello there,  @richardp ...

I did a bit of searching here in the Canvas Community.  Removing the "Previous" and "Next" buttons isn't something you can normally do within the current Canvas interface.  However, I did find a previous question that appears to be similar to what you are asking that was asked about a year ago, and I think it may still apply.  However, I want to add that the global JavaScript that cesbrandt describes in his reply would affect all Canvas courses at your school and not just your course.  So, please keep that in mind.  Here's the link for you: Preventing previous/next jumps between modules.  So, is this possible?  Yes, with custom JavaScript code...but at the account level (according to what Christopher has developed).

richardp
Community Participant

Hi Chris, many thanks for your speedy reply. I don't think for one minute admin would sanction the removal. Hence, I still have the problem

Thanks Rick

Get Outlook for iOS<https://aka.ms/o0ukef>

cesbrandt
Community Champion

@richardp , as  @chofer  mentioned, this is possible via JavaScript, but it will be globally applied based upon the JavaScript deployed.