Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jschaffer
Community Champion

Conversation

Jump to solution

Hello,

I am currently an Account Admin for our school's instance of Canvas, and I was wondering if there was a way that I could pull/audit communication made by a user in our instance of Canvas?  I tried using some of the APIs listed in the Canvas Help Docs, but it says I am not authorized to pull the communication, or the API only pulls my conversations. 

Any ideas on if pulling/auditing another user's conversations is possible? 

Example API :

GET api/v1/comm_messages

GET api/v1/conversations (which only gives me my own conversations, not another user's). 

I appreciate the help as always. 

Regards,

Jason Schaffer

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
James
Community Champion

jschaffer

Have a look at the Masquerading page in the API documentation

If a user has a SIS ID of 12345 and Canvas ID of 98765, then you could use

GET /api/v1/conversations?as_user_id=98765

or

GET /api/v1/conversations?as_user_id=sis_user_id:12345

View solution in original post

7 Replies
James
Community Champion

jschaffer

Have a look at the Masquerading page in the API documentation

If a user has a SIS ID of 12345 and Canvas ID of 98765, then you could use

GET /api/v1/conversations?as_user_id=98765

or

GET /api/v1/conversations?as_user_id=sis_user_id:12345

View solution in original post

kmeeusen
Community Coach
Community Coach

Jason Schaffer

What I usually do is masquerade as the user, go to their inbox, and filter by sent. Typically I don't even need to go that far if the "concern" was shared soon enough after the misdeed, I just scroll down the inbox, and look for the student's name.