Community

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gorsi

Course (and copies of it!) fails to upload to Commons repeatedly... why?

Jump to solution

Are there common reasons for Commons to reject materials? Reasons for failures when you try to add stuff to Commons? Are there certain things that BLOCK inclusion of materials/courses in Commons?

One of our instructors has been trying to share her course to Commons- but the course fails to share successfully to Commons. We tried making a copy of it- that failed to upload too.I tried to just upload it Commons for as I'm an administrator- that did not work either.

Here's the error message we're seeing: http://screencast.com/t/zYgp2tZX5IK

"Resource Unavailable"
"There was an error sharing your resouce, please try again."

Why would this happen?

So, I have combed through this course and it's not even that full of stuff or that complex. No e-textbook, nothing like that. It's all Canvas-native stuff.

Any light you can shed on this topic would be greatly appreciated. I haven't seen any list anywhere of "things that CANNOT be added to Commons" or "things that prevent successful inclusion in Commons"...

This course fails to share successfully to Commons:
https://coloradomtn.instructure.com/courses/1013139

Here's the error message I'm seeing: http://screencast.com/t/zYgp2tZX5IK
This course fails to share successfully to Commons:
https://coloradomtn.instructure.com/courses/1013139
Here's the error message I'm seeing: http://screencast.com/t/zYgp2tZX5IK

Tags (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
gorsi

Hey- just a quick update. I did indeed open a ticket with Instructure.

After more than a week they finally determined that the root cause of the problem was... drumroll please...

a Discussion that lacked a title!

Yes, ONE unpublished draft of a Discussion which had been overlooked and hadn't been finalized by the instructor derailed the ENTIRE upload to Commons.