Community

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
brandont

Data tracking question

My building leadership team has a Google Sheet that we created to collect data for our BIST protocol.  Is there a way to incorporate that sheet into each teacher's Canvas course to make it easier to access and also make it a secure document.  I am afraid that if we leave the sheet in Google Drive, that it will "disappear".  I hope that I asked this clearly.  Thanks for your input.

5 Replies
Stef_retired
Community Team
Community Team

brandont, if I'm understanding you correctly, yes, you should be able to do this. You'd need to use the API to populate every course with an unpublished Canvas page containing the embedded Google Sheet.

I'm not an API expert by any means, so I'll provide you the link to the GitHub documentation for the Pages API: Pages - Canvas LMS REST API Documentation  Presumably, you'll want to make sure to set the parameter for "published" to "false" so that only teachers can view the page in their courses, and the editing role parameter to "teachers," just to be on the safe side.

Do you want teachers to be able to edit and otherwise contribute to this sheet, or is it only going to be editable within Google itself by the owners of the Google Doc? You'll find additional guidance about how to embed Google Sheets in Canvas pages in Google Docs for dynamic Canvas content​ as well as a host of other resources in the Instructional Designers​ group.

If you need additional assistance in setting this up, please click on the Share question above to share this question with the Canvas Admins​ and Canvas Developers​ groups, as those are the folks who have the most experience with populating multiple courses through the API.

Thank you for responding!  Yes I want teachers to be able to edit/contribute to the sheet.  I think that would make it more user friendly, rather than having to open it within Google.