cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rwest
Community Member

Deleting an enrollment on a section

Jump to solution

When enrolling a student onto a course, you can specify if you are enrolling onto the course or a section in the course by using:

POST /api/v1/courses/:course_id/enrollments

or

POST /api/v1/sections/:section_id/enrollments

We have teachers that are enrolled on multiple sections of a course, but there doesn't appear to be a way of removing them just from a single section, only from the entire course:

DELETE /api/v1/courses/:course_id/enrollments/:id

I can't just delete them from the course as we would then lose all of their settings, so how do I do this?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
nr2522
Community Champion

Hello,  @rwest ‌.

I'm not an API expert, but I'll take a stab at this. Wouldn't the enrollment ID be unique for each section that the student is enrolled in? I think that if you delete the enrollment for one section, any other section enrollments in that course for the user would remain. It's worth testing on your Canvas test environment.

Alternatively, you might consider using SIS Import CSV to achieve this. See SIS Import Format Documentation - Canvas LMS REST API Documentation.

Best,

Nelson Ricardo

Columbia Business School

(I don't usually include that in my posts, but I see that you're from LBS, our EMBA-Global partner school.)

View solution in original post

6 Replies
chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello there,  @rwest ...