Community

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
swinning

Disable "Accepted the Course Invitation" Notification

Does anyone know if it is possible to turn off notifications for when users accept course invitation? I keep getting notifications on when people have accepted their course invitation and as a designer, I would prefer turning off this feature so that I do not get emails and notification every time someone accepts an invitation (which is a lot). 

Thanks!

Tags (1)
12 Replies
valentinesking
Advocate

Sean,

When we were first getting set up with Canvas- I was getting a lot of those as well. However, not anymore. It might have been our admins that disabled that "feature" or my account Notifications changes that I severely locked down. While I like to think I have (super) powers- it is more likely our mighty admins that made something happen.

@valentinesking ‌,

Thanks for the help!

kmeeusen
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @swinning ‌

As a Canvas Admin, Instructional Designer, and Instructor I learned real early in our migration to Canvas to turn of about 99% of my notifications! I don't need my inboxes blown up reminding me of things I already know I did because I just did them, or that folks have accepted a course invitation!

Learn how at https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-10029-4152719738 

Kelley

Hi  @kmeeusen ‌,

Thank you for your response. Unfortunately, I can't just turn off ALL of my notifications for a few reasons:

1. I'm also a student. So turning off my notifications means I won't get notified of important information sent my way regarding my class. 
  2. I still rely on notifications to alert me about other issues that still come up on a regular basis as a designer (e.g. announcements from other faculty, messages that get sent to me from faculty/students/TAs, new changes in courses, etc.). 

So unfortunately this is not an option. I appreciate the help though!