Discussion topic author visibility workarounds and import overwrite issues

katevideogeek
Community Explorer

Hi all, I am mostly just wanting to confirm expected functionality of discussions and different import / course copy tools for confirming best processes when building for faculty (and perhaps putting in future feature requests). 
As an instructional/learning designer I often build courses or parts of courses for faculty/teaching staff. I need to be able to create a lot of discussion forums (particularly where discussions may be used as online activities), but not be listed as the author (to avoid students contacting me). By a lot I mean multiple discussions per module x 12 modules, so 30+ in a course wouldn't be unheard of.

As far as I'm aware, the current workaround is to copy in content/discussions from elsewhere (e.g. existing subject, commons, Canvas cartridge import) but this brings in a few issues with import overwrite functionality. If I don't know how many discussions I will need because it emerges while building, the best option would be to continually re-import the same smaller set of discussions and rename them as I go, especially as I may have different types of activity examples templated to draw from. However Commons seems to be the only one of those 3 options that allows re-importing rather than overwriting existing imported/copied content. But I have heard stories from others that re-importing from Commons with things like assignments or quizzes can result in overwrite behaviour. 

Is this what others have found? If so, is my best bet to keep importing from Commons, or are there other/better ways to be doing this? Is there anything specific to editing that is needed to force duplication rather than overwrite? 

Just for reference here's what I've tried across my instance. Currently from my investigation it seems the following occurs:

• creating a new discussion will result with your name being added to the discussion as author.