Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
swinter
Community Champion

Enrolling Existing Users in Courses

Jump to solution

Updated

Original Subject Line: How do I add people that are already users to a class without looking for email addresses?

I am new to Canvas and want to know how I can add existing people in the Users list to a class without having to find their email addresses every time. It is very time consuming to have to open each profile and copy the email to another program to make the list and then go back to the add people window to copy the list to the class. I want to just be able to type names, and if they are already in the system, they resolve (or give me the choice to choose if there is more than one person with the same name). What is teh current strategy to make this an easy process instead of the one it is now?

Susan

Message was edited by: Chris Hofer

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
agooch
Instructure
Instructure

Hi Susan,

If you are looking to manually build a course roster, using the student's email is the only way to go. You can try contacting your Canvas admin to help you creating a provisioning report, which can help you more easily compile the needed email addresses. Keep in mind, If you are copying and pasting from a spreadsheet or other type of list where names are included with email addresses, you may want to check that they are formatted in one of the following formats. otherwise the names may not import correctly:

"EXAMPLE STUDENT" <student@example.com>

Lastname, Firstname" <firstlast@example.com>

JustAnEmailAddress@example.com

Please Note, if your institution uses SIS Imports, you do not need to add any users who are part of your institution's records for the course. They will be added to the course by your admin.

View solution in original post

8 Replies
agooch
Instructure
Instructure

Hi Susan,