cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ryan13
Community Member

Error adding assignment through API

Jump to solution

Hello I am new to canvas and I am creating an external tool that creates modules and module items to be sent to canvas.

I am trying to add assignments to my module using php.

$ch = curl_init();

curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_URL, '<canvas>/api/v1/courses/<courseid>/modules/<moduleid>/items');
curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, 1);
curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POSTFIELDS, "module_item[content_id]=1&module_item[title]=module item&module_item[type]=Assignment&module_item[position]=2&module_item[indent]=1&module_item[external_url]=<myexternalurl>");
curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POST, 1);

$headers = array();
$headers[] = 'Authorization: Bearer '. $token;
$headers[] = 'Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded';
curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_HTTPHEADER, $headers);

$result = curl_exec($ch);
echo $result;
if (curl_errno($ch)) {
echo 'Error:' . curl_error($ch);
}
curl_close($ch);

Other module types like External Tool etc. are working except assignments and it always throw this message

{"message":"Could not find content"}

Need help with this

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
James
Community Champion

I suspect two things.

One may be that you're creating a type of Assignment but then giving it an ExternalURL. How do you have an external URL with an assignment?

The other thing is to make sure that you're using the correct ID. That seems more likely since you got the error "could not find content." The other part of this is that the content_id and content_type have to go together in the same course. You can only use content_id=1 with type=Assignment if there is an Assignment in that course with an ID=1. Click on the assignment you want and note the assignment_id at the end of the URL. Then use that ID for the content_id.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
James
Community Champion

I suspect two things.