cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lesley_cryderma
Community Contributor

Grading multiple submissions to the same assignment

Students can upload files submissions as many times as they want.  As an instructor, I can grade any or all of these submissions as part of the assignment.  However, I recently encountered a situation where I graded the first submission and not the 2nd submission.  I annotated the document.  

The student, when viewing feedback on the assignment, could only view the 2nd submission and NOT the one I graded.  Is this intended behavior? Since there is a new version of the document every time they submit, shouldn't they be able to view all versions in their feedback?  

Lesley

5 Replies
rmurchshafer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Lesley,

You are correct that students can only see their most recent submission.  You as an instructor can see them all.  I am not sure if this is by design or not.  My guess is that it is with the idea being that a re-submission is meant to replace a previous one.  But teachers can still access old ones a a means of data integrity. 

Rick

Hmmm. I feel like this is functionality we should have. I personally prefer to allow students to submit several files as part of ONE assignment an don't want to have to add a bunch of extra columns in my gradebook in order to separate all of these files.  This usually works out well for me but I hadn't before tried to annotate an earlier assignment.  

I guess maybe I should create a feature request to allow students to see feedback on all submissions.

Lesley