cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
emily
Community Champion

HIPAA compliance plans?

Are there any plans to make Canvas HIPAA-compliant?

Tags (2)
7 Replies
abunag
Community Champion

I haven't heard of any.  I'd suggest talking to your CSM, or if you don't have one, reach out to Instructure, the makers of Canvas.

kmeeusen
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @emily ​

Could you elaborate on what you mean by HIPAA compliant. I worked as a Privacy Officer for a regional medical center for many years, and have a good understanding of HIPAA (in fact I traveled all over the country training health care professionals in HIPAA). There is only a limited intersection of HIPAA and education, but only in respect to an individual's Protected Health Information. This intersect typically occurs in health care programs and physical ed/sports where PHI may be collected, stored and used by the school.

Where PHI is collected and used (maybe even created) by a school, the school is responsible for publishing a Notice of Privacy Practices (NOPP), and is obligated to protect that information from unauthorized disclosure and use. I do not understand what role Canvas plays in this. The only way PHI can become available for unauthorized disclosure in Canvas is if a teacher or student posts it. This means that this is a teacher training issue. Teachers need to be trained to not post private protected information to be viewable by students, and in how to design assignments that do not require students to make discusures of their own private information. The only place I can envision this happening is in Discussions when an instructor is asking their students to post confidential information  - this should never be done, but is not something Canvas can fix other than by turning off every student submission feature. Every other student submission type can only be viewed by the submitting student and the instructor.