cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
aguethler
Community Participant

Help importing cartridge/Display of HTML

I have been using Canvas for 3 years, but have yet to successfully import course tools from my textbook. 

Publisher: Macmillian

File type: imscc

I am successful downloading the file, and using the course upload to import it into canvas.  After that point all files (animations, activities, etc) are html files.  They show up in nicely divided modules, but only work when downloaded (and then sometimes)   If you click on the file it fails to load in both chrome and ie.    I get the link to download and a box with the word loading in the left hand corner.  The never actually load.  

All information I can find seems to refer to single sign on and deep integration - neither of which are desired for this course.   Macmillan Learning: Canvas for Scientific American Biology for a Changing World Second Edition by Mi... 

5 Replies
rconroy
Instructure
Instructure

Hi  @aguethler  Welcome to the Canvas Community. 

I researched a little of what you were referring to and see how this can pose a problem. I see that Macmillan also has a community site which I'm sure is super helpful!

Have you checked that you have Macmillan Learning tools added into your course as an app? This may be the first step in checking compatibility of the course import translating well. If you can't check this, you may need the Admin of your institution to do so for you. 

I'm going to go ahead and share with https://community.canvaslms.com/groups/designers?sr=search&searchId=5c1ea6fe-a4b0-4f3c-a575-ae1081e6...‌ and https://community.canvaslms.com/groups/admins?sr=search&searchId=c174e361-4ce1-4d10-9b06-d148bf1236d...‌ groups to hopefully get more traction on your question. Smiley Happy

aguethler
Community Participant

Roxanne,  I really appreciate the help.