cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ecassel
Community Member

How Can Instructors Upload Files as Assignments and Syllabi?

Jump to solution

I am an instructor trying to create my course in Canvas.

How do I attach an assignment document that my students complete and then upload to be graded?

I do not see any way for an instructor to upload any document as an attachment.

I also want to know how to upload my syllabus as a document.

All of the answers on this topic have been directed to students even though it appears instructors were asking.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ericwerth
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @ecassel and welcome to the Canvas Community!  If you are creating an assignment and want to include an attached file, you need to upload the file to Canvas.  There are a couple of ways this can be done.  First, if you are in the assignment creating window or editing the syllabus tab, then you will see what is referred to as the rich content editor, What is the Rich Content Editor?.  This document explains how to use the rich content editor to insert a file, How do I insert course files into the Rich Content Editor using the Content Selector as an instructo... 

Alternatively, you can upload files first in the Files tab and then use the content selector portion of the rich content editor (described in the document above) to select these to insert them into assignments, pages, quizzes, discussions, etc.  Here are a few documents about Files that may be helpful

How do I use Files as an instructor? 

How do I create a folder in Files as an instructor? 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-13033 

I hope this helps and best wishes!

View solution in original post

14 Replies
ericwerth
Community Coach
Community Coach